From November 1, 2015, Applicants can now also validate their European patent application and the later European patent in the Republic of Moldova. Accordingly, these European bundles of patents ensure the same rights and legal protection after the validation as in Moldova allowed national patents. After this validation agreement with Moldova coming into effect, a patent protection can be obtained in a total of 42 countries with only one European patent application. Besides Moldova, these are the 38 EPO member states, the two extension states Bosnia and Herzegovina and Montenegro as well as Morocco. The respective validation agreement with Morocco entered into force by March 1, 2015.

A corresponding map showing the listed member states, extension states and validation states of the European Patent Convention can be found on the website of the European Patent Office: EPO member, extension and validation states